“For Colored Girls” – an Author, G. D. Grace Pre-Review

Even though I have yet to see this movie, I have heard a lot of backlash regarding the storyline of it.  I just jumped off of a blog talk radio show where the host and chat room participants were pretty much slamming the entire movie.  I believe that people are entitled to their own opinions, so I’ll add mine.  

Tyler Perry has accomplished what so many writers and filmmakers only dream of accomplishing in a lifetime.   The beginning of his life was littered with emotionally challenging occurrences that would destroy even the strongest person, yet by the Grace of God he managed to pull himself up from homelessness to amass a media empire that is employing a multitude of black actors and actresses.  I’m pretty sure on that same ticket are black caterers, costume designers, make up artists, hair stylists, stunt people, etc… all whom are reaping the benefits of having a studio owned by a black man.

Listening to people tearing him down at the height of his success is sickening to me.  I remember looking at this documentary about Amos & Andy, and how black people back then boycotted and raised so much hell about the show, similar to the way people are raising hell about Tyler’s latest movies, until the show got canned.  Well, as a result, many black people were instantly unemployed, and that is such a travesty.

Artistic expression is a form of freedom of speech, and that is what I love the most about being a writer, I have the ability to create story lines that I want to tell, and hopefully one that some will identify with and gather strength from.  I remember a line from Tyler’s “The Family That Preys” that said something to the effect of, you never know a person’s story unless you have walked in their shoes.  Well, in my opinion, movies like Precious and For Colored Girls are made to pull the cloak off of unspoken events that are chilling, blood curling, and uncomfortable, as a way of getting people to talk about them

There are so many individuals walking around here, bottled up with so much guilt and shame about what they’ve been through, and I believe that cinema courageous enough to address these issues are just as important as the ones that want to paint the perfect picture of love, family, and life.  As a hopeless romantic myself, I would love to sit and watch a string of movies where the characters skip off into the sunset and live happily ever after, but that is unrealistic.  There is a whole lot of drama that begins after the honeymoon period when two people first meet, and I’d rather see a realistic story that details the struggles that accompany being in a relationship.

My thoughts are currently pre-movie, and I will be making my way down to the theater to see this Tyler Perry produced movie.  You know, I remember watching “The Secret Life of Bees” with a friend of mine, and after the movie was done all she had to say was, the book was way better than the movie.  I was like, yeah, it probably had more detail, but damn, how come you only got that out of seeing it?

Perhaps I am biased since I am a writer, and I know that when you put your art out there for the world to see, criticism is an unfortunate part of the whole creative process.  Not everyone is going to like everything that is presented for the big screen, so I suppose you just chalk it up as food for thought and move on, not letting anyone discourage you from doing what it is you love to do.  I remember the title “For Colored Girls Only..Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Was Enuf” back when I was younger, and since I have never read the book before, I’ll be seeing the story for the first time when I go see the movie.  I may or may not read the book, but if I do, I’ll not compare the two to one another, because I know it is virtually impossible to have everything as it was when it was written in the novel format.

Before I finish, there was a statement made on this blog talk radio show that I was listening to that ticked me off; the person asked the rhetorical question:  Who believes this movie is great, someone addicted to mental dysfunction?  I thought it was an irresponsible statement made by someone who probably has never experienced heartbreaking or spirit battering situations, and I can only say that, perhaps, should that day come, God-forbid, that they’ll remember their statement and have a little bit more compassion for people who have lived through challenging experiences.

In closing, I’d just like to say that this whole Tyler Perry backlash doesn’t surprise me in the least; it’s that crabs in a barrel mentality that we as a people continue to struggle with.  I may not agree with everything someone else does, but if they are trying to inspire someone going through a bad spot in their lives, then who in the hell am I to discredit what they’re doing?

Tyler, my hats off to you my friend, and perhaps one day we will meet, and on that day, I will shake your hand and say, job well done.

Author, G. D. Grace

Author, G. D. Grace Literary Links:

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

“A Touch of Grace” Blog Talk Radio Show:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

Author G. D. Grace reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  Author, G. D. Grace; Published © 2010 November

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in G. D. Grace, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “For Colored Girls” – an Author, G. D. Grace Pre-Review

  1. seo submit says:

    good molly Author, G. D. Grace , i review your blog , be a nice blog and perfect. Great for me. useful Poetry and Reviews content. i going to plan to read and comment your website.

Leave a Reply

