Inspiring Message to Author G. D. Grace from a Facebook Friend

I wanted to capture this encouraging message that someone from Facebook sent to me in my inbox this evening.  I suppose the reason why I feel compelled to share it is because I have really faced some tough economic challenges over the past few months, yet I seem to keep prospering and growing as a literary personality on “A Touch of Grace”, and my writing gift continues to churn out words, sentences, paragraphs, pages, and novels.  The fact that I’ve been able to accomplish all of this with very little capital inspires me to share my story to inspire others who may not have a lot of money, so that they know there are avenues out here that require little or no money that will allow you to follow your dream, if you are open to learn and invest time into what it is you want to achieve.

A little over year ago I had little knowledge about the literary world, all I had was a desire to write a book but I took advantage of everything available to me to become a self-published author.  After that first book was self-published back in September of 2009, I wrote and self published three others within a six month period that ran through March of 2010, and I self-published my fifth one about a month ago.  I used the house graphics supplied by the pay per print company, and my first novel with edited by a good friend who is extremely detail oriented.  When she couldn’t keep up with me, I began editing my own work (which in the literary world is sort of looked down upon).  Because I respect this art, I am moving towards delivering more polished projects that have the “professional” touch (i.e. editing, book covers that are designed especially for that book).

I also opened myself up to the kindness of strangers who selflessly offered suggestions that helped me learn how to increase traffic to my blog page, get started in blog talk radio, write up promotional posts that I use on my blog, as well as, how to market my work without pestering potential buyers by bombarding them with “buy my” work narratives.  I learned to let potential buyers click on the link if they’re interested in reading more of my work.  The biggest part of all of this is that I am always writing something to strengthen my skills.   When I get “a” sale I am the happiest man on the planet in that moment, because I actually write for a love of it.  I also host and produce the blog talk radio show out of a love for shinning the spotlight on gifted writers to bring attention to them and their work.

In the process of giving back, I have found that people give back to me and it’s just like that whole “circle of life” concept.  There are days when it gets discouraging because you wonder how you’re going to pay the bills and when all of the hard work will pay off, but then, God reveals himself subtly to assure you that if you continue doing what you’re doing, it will eventually happen for you.

When I see others helping and supporting one another it moves my spirit, and I have encountered many people on Facebook who are truly genuine individuals progressively motivated and focused.  I know who they are too because they never sleep.  They are always keeping their eyes on the prize, and those individuals know who they are because I make it a point of telling them how they inspire me.

Well, all of that said, here is the message I received this evening (the sender will remain anonymous because I was sent the message to my In-box).  I hope you find as much inspiration as I found in it when I read it, and to that person I humbly thank you for this gift of encouragement that you gave to me.

Thank you God for showing me that I am not alone.

You were destined for greatness. You were not brought into this world for failure. The light of God is in you. You have the victory. You have a right to live a prosperous life.”  — anonymous friend

Producer & Blog Radio Host, Author G. D. Grace

Call in number for the show: (347) -215-6245
A Touch of Grace Blog Talk Radio Link: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

Author G. D. Grace reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  Author, G. D. Grace; Published © 2010 November

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in G. D. Grace, Point of View, Random Acts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

