Don’t Wait a Lifetime… (2/18/2011)

Sitting here reflective, remembering where I’ve been in my life, the non-productive  things that I’ve done that altered my journey many years ago, and I am grateful to have emerged from the shadows a stronger person.  Over the course of a lifetime you encounter so many who present themselves as one way only to find out that their motives were selfish, and their intentions devious.

Many people respect, cherish and value the gift of friendship because they understand how short our time is here in this life.  The greatest benefit of having a solid support system around you at all times is that when you’re going through the rougher days you are not alone.  The presence of people in our lives  who truly care is where strength comes from, for united together under God’s Grace we are usually able to overcome sadness, grief, loneliness, and insecurity.

I look back on when I first started this literary journey and remember how uncertain I was about my abilities to be able to pull it off — writing a book, but I stayed focus and invested hours into developing my skills and I discovered a diligence in me that I never even knew I had.

Five books later, I have become a self published author poised to really be a recognized force in both the literary and blog radio worlds, and I cannot believe how quickly time has passed from when I first began.  The thing about stepping out on faith and embracing your gift is, as uncertain as you feel inside in the beginning, the rewards from the efforts you make present themselves eventually.

During the moments when confidence seems to waiver, that solid foundation in back of you is what propels and keeps that ambitious spirit’s flame ignited, but the important thing to remember is this:  all that is given to you must be returned to those who always remained true.

There were times when I didn’t know how I was going to eat, how I was going to get the gas needle in my car to move from “E” to “F”, how I was going to make rent, how I was going to pay the electric and phone bills, but I never gave up, and I never closed people out of my life during those times.  The most eye-opening experience is that when I needed my space they understood and did not bombard me with unreasonable  expectations, nor did they make me feel less than because I was struggling.

You see, the real test came when the “lap-top” crashed — it was a period when I was allowed to test my new wings to see if I had really learned how to fly, and I did, I really learned how to fly.  I didn’t push away the people who reached out to me, I allowed them to love me, but more importantly I never forgot to love myself.

Don’t wait a lifetime to show and embrace those you care about…

Author, G. D. Grace Literary Links:

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

“A Touch of Grace” Blog Talk Radio Show:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

Author G. D. Grace reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  Author, G. D. Grace; Published © 2011 February

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in G. D. Grace, Point of View, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

