Candid Observation (4-7-2011)

Tonight I observed, first hand,  how hard it is for someone to tell you that they’ll miss you, and how much they valued your friendship over the course of  time that you spent with them.  I suppose I have learned over the years that many people have gone through so much pain and hurt that they find it difficult to express themselves with tender words, because they fear that whatever has transpired in the past will occur again, so rather than embracing and displaying any type of sensitivity towards the friendship, they hide behind hateful words, harsh criticisms, and piercing judgments, focusing on the mistakes you’ve made as opposed to rejoicing on what you have managed to achieve in spite them.

Much of the darkness I’ve experienced in life manifested itself in a lack of self-worth, and it seemed I was always searching for love from the mouths and hearts of others, until I discovered an inner-strength and sound ambition hidden in me — one that was hidden behind everything I encountered as a result of being a creative creature.  Little did I know that my power rested in the core of literary expression and blog talk radio.  I’ve amassed quite a following on this blog I created over a year ago, and it has surpassed 10,000 visitors.  That means that 10,000 people believe that I have something to say, and that it is a place worth stopping by to visit.  The radio show, “A Touch of Grace” has had over 7,000 visitors, and numerous guest — and the future guest list is growing with each passing day.

In the heart of this transition I see people I’ve known for years, family and friends, who choose to remain in the comforts of what they call existence, who never stepped out on faith to discover their passion and follow their dreams, so it is understandable why these individuals cannot fathom how I walked away from a 26 year corporate job and have struggled ever since.  They aren’t evolved enough to see all that I have accomplished since I made the move — the only thing that they can see is how hard I have been struggling, and what I left behind.

Well, I now know that it is not my responsibility to help them see what I have accomplished as a result of stepping out on faith.  It is also not my intention to move them past what they see, the only thing that I can do is focus on what it is I am trying to build and carve out for myself based on my talent and creativity.  A dear friend of mine affirmed everything for me last night, when she said that following your own road in this life might never sit well with some, but that I need to always remember that it is my road, not theirs.

So, as some sit back and reflect on the decisions I’ve made in order to be able to do what is in my heart, I’ve decided to maintain momentum and focus as I continue to get closer to a successful creative profession — one that will satisfy the hunger inside of me, and in the wake of all that I do, I am creating a literary legacy that will outlive me.

One of my favorite quotes is, “It’s not the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away…”

Live for you, and prosper…

GD

Author, G. D. Grace Literary Links:

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

“A Touch of Grace” Blog Talk Radio Show:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

CALL IN NUMBER TO SHOW: (347) 215-6245

Author G. D. Grace reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  Author, G. D. Grace; Published © 2011 April

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in A Touch of Grace - Blog Talk Radio, G. D. Grace, Point of View, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Candid Observation (4-7-2011)

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    ★★★★★

  2. You said it all with this one line… “Live for you, and prosper…”

    • Awww, thanks E. You know, I was really feeling this one last night. I shot you my new cell# so that you’ll be able to reach me during this transitional period. I’m excited about the change, and know that it will lead to bigger and greater things. You know I’ve got your back too, bro. Be well, my friend.

  3. business says:

    ..Can friendships that have gone the wrong way be.manifested to become positive ones?? ..Hi ..This is a slightly tricky one because if you are.affirming or intending great giving friendly for example people around you.and people are disappearing then that is part of the plan of bringing new.people like that into your life. Maybe.something they ve done or the way they ve behaved even though I love them! .Or got concerned that they may not ring or may not email and they have not…The way I got friendships back and sometimes.more than once! is by going out and having fun.

    • Loved the insight you provided in this “touchy” subject… I identify with much of what you said — especially the part “…then that is part of the plan of bringing new people into your life”… I wholeheartedly agree. Life is, indeed, an evolution.

      drop by anytime, myron.

Leave a Reply

