Ripped & Ready *Season 1* (Part 48) – excerpt from the second novel by Author G. D. Grace

RIPPED & READY (PART XLVIII)

 

Hank’s seductive, periodic, glances in between sips of Brandy were seductive but creepy.  I couldn’t put my finger on it, but, this big old house, the two Rottweiler’s, and that foul mouth parrot (who kept screaming Bee-atch every 15 minutes), just seemed a little off to me.  I mean, he was turning me on because, let’s face it, he was easy on the eyes; however, there was a strange scent hitting my nostrils (and it smelled like hospital chemicals).

I really started noticing it shortly after he arrived back into the room.  I’m not sure if it was coming from a special cleaning product but it, along with the animal smell had me a feeling a little uneasy (Did this motherfucker have a formaldehyde tank locked up somewhere?).

I didn’t know, but I really wanted to know so, like anybody with good sense, I asked.  “Hank, something is really waking up my allergies in here,” I said, lying my ass off.

“Oh, really, I’m sorry,” he said, “I want you to get as comfortable as possible,” he said, “Maybe we should move into the den area,” he suggested

Follow him to the den area?

Was he trying to get me further away from the front door?

Where is this den area at?

This nigga was beginning to take on the characteristics of a serial killer — the too friendly smile; the nervous patting of his large hands on the knees; that intense gleam in his eyes; hell, his whole demeanor looked a little too cryptic for me so, instead of following him like a lamb following a butcher to slaughter, I asked the question I should have asked before I even stepped foot outside of the club.

“Uh, I hope I’m not being too nosey, brotha, but, I cannot help but notice how much of a roller you seemed to be — I mean, the Jag’, this big ass house, the exotic animals” — (Namely, that damned cracker eating comic), because the Rotts weren’t that exotic, but they did, however, remind me a little too much of that damned movie, “The Omen”.

Yup, devil dogs!

Hank had this Damien Thorne theme going on in this bitch!

It was time to act like I cared about breathing.

“Oh, no, I don’t mind you asking.  I’m a mortician — one of Oakland’s most popular.  I own four funeral homes and, let’s just say, business is doing quite well — you know, with all these young knuckle heads killing off one another, it’s booming” he said, lifting his snifter in a self-toasting gesture.

Bingo!

That was the fragrance — death!

That’s when I really started getting uncomfortable and, then he started scooting over toward me on the sofa. The desires to leave kept hitting me like a barrage of hailstones; I had to get the fuck out of there.  I mean morticians were necessary artists in life (I mean, people wanted to look their best lying in a coffin, but you know something, that occupation wasn’t something I wanted to become familiar with on a daily basis).

It was time, like Young MC said, to “Bust a Move”.

I instantly begin to try and figure out an excuse to bounce up out of Phantasm Manor.  My excuse began to buzz at my side — thank God, it was my cell phone.

“Excuse me,” I said, relieved by the welcomed intrusion.

“Hello,” I said.

“Nigga, where in the fuck are you? Our friend is laying up here in the hospital and no one has seen or heard from you since you left, yesterday,” D’Andre said in a fowl tone.

“I know, baby, I’m sorry, I’m heading there now,” I told him.

“How is Collin, baby?” I asked.

“Please stop calling me, baby, Marco,” he requested (and it hurt the hell out of me too).

“I’m sorry,” I said.

“Yea, you are,” he responded.

No he didn’t…

No his trick ass didn’t just insult me…

I’d deal with his ass later, but right now, I needed to vacate these premises.  Hank looked at me with concern in his eyes and asked, “Did you need me to take you some place?”

Hell yea, I said to myself, but instead of saying it like that I said, politely, “Yes, I need a ride to San Mateo, one of my good friends is in a coma,” I told him.

“Correction, nigga, Collin woke up a couple of hours ago,” He said.

“Oh, that’s wonderful, D…”

Click.

I was beside myself; D’Andre had just hung up in my face.

I looked over at Hank in disbelief, but refrained from filling him in on that piece of information.

“You okay, buddy?” he asked.

I lied.

“Yes, but how quick can you get me there?” I asked, happy that Collin was now awake, pissed that D’Andre was acting like a straight bitch, and relieved that I was leaving the Mortician’s Lair.

It was time to get back to reality and once I was sure that Collin was going to be okay, I was headed back to my apartment to deal with Josephs shady ass.  I hadn’t decided if I was going to just accept this child and work him into the relationship, or leave his ass for keeping secrets.

Had I known this would not be his only secret, I probably would have made up my mind then, but I am not a mind reader.

Joseph was about to take me on the ride of my life.

Damn, why in the fuck can’t I go back to that M6 night?

Author, G. D. Grace Literary Links:

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

http://authorgdgrace.blogspot.com/

EMAIL: Detria0918@sbcglobal.net

“A Touch of Grace” Blog Talk Radio Show:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

CALL IN NUMBER TO SHOW: (347) 215-6245

(Psalms 30:5)

Author G. D. Grace reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  Author, G. D. Grace; Published © 2010 February

 

**************COMMENTS FROM FOLLOWERS OF RIPPED & READY **********

bmorelove,

Oh c’mon you only posted one chapter what happen when they was flowing out like water man!!!!

Bring us the next chapter!!!!

2009-10-13 13:24:15
I agree,

come on man, but whats up with ‘Dre, damn did something happen that we don’t know about it and wow! Marco meet so weird ass people. I would of got the fuck out of there as soon as he told me his occupation and he was proud of that shit too! just too damn much!
2009-10-13 13:51:38
g. d. freightman,

I know… I’ve got these other projects and another interview I’m preparing for …I’ll post at least a couple of more today, but got to hit the bed early tonight so I can be fresh tomorrow. Lord, they make you jump through a lot of hoops to secure some employment. I pray the day comes when I can write all day/night for a living but, until then, the bills need to keep being paid (LOL). Love ya’ll… have a blessed one.
2009-10-13 13:55:27
GABRIELLE TERRY,

CHILE WHEN HE SAID MORTICIAN, I STARTED SWEATING FOR YOU!! I WAS LIKE RUN FOREST, RUN….
2009-10-13 13:59:33
GABRIELLE TERRY,

I THINK D’ANDRE IS PISSED ABOUT JOSEPH, AND I THINK HE FOUND OUT ABOUT COLLIN. WELL HE WAS SLEEPING ON MARCO CHASING AFTER THAT FAST ASS GIRL, THAT’S WHAT HE GETS.
2009-10-13 14:02:26
g. d. freightman,

Oh, Gabby, my how you slay me (wink). Okay, let me focus on prepping for this interview. I’ll kick out some more chapters later on. I just had to kick out at least one, immediately, after your comment (wink). LOL. Can’ have the reading crew coming after me with torches…..
2009-10-13 14:02:55
Brown Drizzle,

Mr. G.D….. OMGosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think Collin told his girl about the M6……….since he really got it tat’d on his body… of course she would question it…. plus, she is a switch hitter herself…. Now, What the hell is wrong with D’Andre’s bitch ass…. he had his chance…. but real recognize real…. I hope Collin and Marco end up together….
2009-10-13 16:05:34
GABRIELLE TERRY,

LOL…I DID NOT MEAN TO SCARE YOU BOO..BUT I LOVE THE STORY SWEETIE. I JUST DON’T WANT YOU NOT TO GET PUBLISHED, SINCE WE GOT ALL THESE BIG SHOT PUBLISHED AUTHORS READING OUR WORK….(WINK)…LOL I SLAY MY DAMN SELF.
2009-10-13 16:52:09
Bunny,

come on mr freightman i wait all day 2 log on thinkin imma get at least 3 posts and its only 1…sir havent u learned by now that imma junkie? damn msboobutter got me hooked then just deserted me…gabby u 2 (congrats honey!)! LOL…(u guys kno i love u!) now u come along as my new supplier and u wanna start bein stingy! LMAO! so….i think dandre knows bout marco/collin (m6 tat) too bad so sad should got a piece of that ass instead of denise slutbucket ass…joseph needs to give marco (and i) some ans asap bout this chid…and big bank hank need to keep that mortician shit to himself on a first “date” WTF shit i would be nicked up too…with all that said GIVE ME MORE!
2009-10-13 21:56:14


 

 

 

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in G. D. Grace, Ripped & Ready Season 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

