“Inspired by God & You” by De’Bora Brown-Brooks

“Letting Go”

18 years ago, on this day I was incarcerated in the County Jail. Looking, waiting to spend 10-15 years in jail. I had been arrested on July 24th, and new I had played my last hand. There was no more fight in me. I was done! I had called out to God, and His response was for me to be where I was. For the 1st time in years, I was ready and willing to accept the consequences of my behavior. What a revelation! I was so tired, so afraid, so raggedy that being in jail was a step up. Of course, I had no idea what His plans for me were {Jeremiah 29:11}, but I knew it was better than anything I could come up with. Should I shout now, or ya’ll wanna here more? Well, needless to say I was sitting there amongst other women who were cussing, fussing, who were of course “innocent”, and this time I was not joining in. Wow! I didn’t call my family{I should have}, because I didn’t want a lawyer, I had no more lies or excuses in me, so I isolated from the outside world. I had not seen my oldest boys in years, and my youngest in months. How wretched I felt, but again, I could not/would not blame anyone else…not this time. I sat in the County for 89 days, before I got indicted. I knew I had open cases, and probation violations and it was expected, I still had peace. I was at last safe. See I knew if I left jail before God said I could, I would die. I left it all up to Him. My 1st real show of Faith. On October 26th, 1993 I went to court. Before the Judge I stood and as he read the charges, I prayed “Lord Your will not mine” I was sentenced to 2-10 twice, 3-15, and a 4-15. I fainted! When they finally revived me, I was told that one had been dismissed and the others had been suspended. I was given 1 year probation and treatment. “Thy Will Be Done!” I am here today, because I Let Go. I can Stand today, because I Let Go! I am who I am today, because of Who He Is.

I am thankful, I am sober, I am free.

Saved Sober Serene

Written by Me

Inspired by God & You

8/11/11

De’Bora Brown-Brooks reserves all rights and reproduction without written permission is not permitted.  If found, legal action will be taken against the person(s) or company(s) that have cut or pasted (Plagiarized) any portion of this written document.  De’Bora Brown-Brooks; Published © 2011 August

Author, G. D. Grace Literary Links:

http://stores.lulu.com/enlightenment4theheart

https://author2be.wordpress.com/

http://authorgdgrace.blogspot.com/

EMAIL: Detria0918@sbcglobal.net

“A Touch of Grace” Blog Talk Radio Show:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/author2beepa

CALL IN NUMBER TO SHOW: (347) 215-6245

(Psalms 30:5)

About G. D. Grace of California

After the release of his fifth self-published novel, “Ripped & Ready (season 3)” GD ramped up for a new endeavor in radio, and on September 2, 2010 his first #BlogTalkRadio show premiered. His first two guest were two literary colleagues from two different sides of the tracks — one a former prison inmate-hustler, single father, turned author — the other, an accredited teacher and single father first time author. The intense on-air climate of cultural differences on the show, at one point, became thick enough to slice with a butter knife, however, it was a very successful event. Despite the clash over marketing approaches both authors remained professional and the outcome was a highly entertaining and interesting show. The seasons that followed incorporated talent from all walks of creativity, so in addition to the authors, GD’s guest lineup included poets and recovering addicts, motivational speakers and entrepreneurs, filmmakers and professionals in sports training and health, and also established artists from highly successful television shows, as well as, NAACP & Grammy Winners. Many shows gave us an inside glimpse inside the lives of legends from Marvin Gaye, James Brown, Smokey Robinson, Ray Goodman & Brown, Bruce A. Hawes (extraordinary writer for the Sounds of Philadelphia), Gerald Alston of The Manhattans, The Delphonics, Howard Hewett, and Chris Jasper of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame recognized Isley Brothers. Legends of literary Stanley Bennett Clay and James Earl Hardy also brought their distinct creative prowess to the show, as did professionals from the Broadway stage. GD’s show eventually caught the attention of World Media and through this friendship many of the legends mentioned above were tapped to be guests on the show. His friend, and often times, mentor, Wayne Barros became an influential part of the legacy that he was creating one show at time. His friendship, love, and direction helped enforce an inner-confidence in GD which allowed him to stretch his producing skills so the show would have an entertaining variety for the live listener and archive listeners. Between the two audience variations the show has been listened to by over 40,000 people. It has been successful beyond GD’s wildest dreams, and as Season 6 approaches, the adrenalin within him increases. He begins assembling the guest list next month in April 2015, and…
This entry was posted in BIO's, Other Writers & Artists. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Inspired by God & You” by De’Bora Brown-Brooks

  1. De'Bora Brown~Brooks says:

    I am blessed and honored to have “some” of my story posted here. To have been where I was, to where God has allowed me to be still amazes me. Seeing my life as it was turned into what it is, is more than I can really express in words. But, God blesses me everyday to share His Grace, His Mercy, His Glory with someone else. My only prayer is that my past will encourage someone, anyone to realize that “There is Hope” Thank You God! Thank you Author G. D. Grace

  2. Your story should help and inspire a lot of people to do what God wants them to do and be.. You just keep being who you are,By Trusting God, Cleanning House, And Helping Others …As you do so very well… Love You Little Sister…. For Real !!!!!!

  3. Rich Raphael says:

    You truly have a powerful story of God’s Transforming Power to tell. I encourage you, in the strongest possible terms, to keep writing. People need to know that there IS hope..that there IS a better way to live. Thank you for being a part of my life, my sister and my friend. God Bless You.

  4. Karen Fuller says:

    Praise God !! Hallelujah !! I am so blessed to have crossed paths with this awesome WOG ! There is a story behind your story. The story of Gods amazing grace n His mercies that we often overlook. I thank God that He does cause us to avail ourselves to Him when we see no other way out but thru Him. God has also allowed me the blessing of falling on my face. Hitting rock bottom before I recognized fully Who He is,knowing all things come via His hand. I am so honored n privileged to glorify Him in this capacity. I am blessed to have listened to your testimony and walk alongside you from the pit to the palace. I am humbled before Him and truly grateful knowing that He is not a respector of persons. What He’s done for one,He will do for another, all others if they will so allow. Not only did I listen, I heard n received by faith. Sis De’Bora, keep prayin’ n praisin’. Keep reaching. You’re not here for a season,but a reason. There is work to be done and God is using you mightily ! I❤ you sis.

Leave a Reply

